Nursery Progress


Lately, Matt and I have been working on the nursery, and while there are still some things to do, this important room is almost done. I wanted to wait to post pictures till I was done, but there are a lot of aspects to the nursery so I thought I could explain what we have done in a few posts.

First off, most of the furniture came from garage sales, craigslist, or was given to us and refinished. So, although the nursery looks pretty simple, there has been a lot of painting and sanding going on behind the scenes. My overall goal was to create a white themed nursery with splashes of color interspersed.  One of the first things we bought was a dressser at a garage sale for 2o dollars after which we proceeded to sand, paint, remove 2 shelves and change the hardware.  We also plan to have it doubel as a changing table when all is said and done ( and we get a changing pad).

The dresser before .

The old hardware

Matt sanding the varnish

Now the revamped dresser has found its place under Arianna’s name and two wall mounted shelves. The color of the room is Aloe, so it is a light green with some blue tinting. Also there are going to be fabric bins where the top shelves used to reside, for easy pull out storage.

An important mindset I had to come to terms with is that everything would not be exactly as I pictured it. One of those things was the perfect nursery chair. I had my heart set on a chair like below but I quickly realized 4oo dollars was way out of our budget parameter. I even went yardsaling trying to find an old rocking chair that we could get a slip cover for and make like the one in the picture below. However even that was going to cost a hundred dollars and Matt found most of those chairs to small for him.

What I did end up finding was a office chair and ottoman on craigslist for 25 dollars that looked like this….

Microfiber Saddle Color Swivel Glider Recliner With Ottoman

But it was still black and though Matt thought it looked fine I decided it would mess up the whole look of the nursery if it was black. So I painted it white and put it in the far corner of the room between the curtains my mom made for me. The table beside it we already owned but once again we had to paint it white. There will be some artistic work above the chair hopefully in the next two weeks and I will post when that is done.

One of the big splurges I had was the rug. It was also the first item I picked out for the nursery. It is actually the most expensive item in the room even over the crib but I love it!!!!  I found it on overstock.com and debated for a month before finally buying it.  The rug is super soft and adds texture because the the white design is shorter than the tan of the rug. The curtains actually have circles that remind me of the pattern on the rug.

Like I said there is still more to come, like the crib, closet, artistic item, mobile, and some finishing touches but this is a good start.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nursery Progress

  1. Cassie

    Love it…especially the rug! Good job!

  2. Nicole

    It looks beautiful! Cant wait to see it in person with little Arianna in it!

Leave a comment